Go Back   Huntsville Car Scene.com > Huntsville Car Scene Forums > General Discussions

General Discussions When the thread doesn't fit anywhere else...

Old July 6th   #1
Sean
Sean
has no status.

Paint help

I hope to prep and paint my hood and front bumper this weekend. I've never done any automotive painting before though so I'm looking for someone that knows what their doing to help or supervise. I can rent the paint booth on the arsenal Saturday or Sunday but need to have the parts mostly prepped before hand.

If anyone has a DA sander, blocks, or a decent paint gun I could borrow, it would help. If none are available I'll pick up some cheap ones from harbor freight and hope for the best. All that I currently have is a 20gal air compressor so if you have all the stuff, I can come to your place. Whatever is easier for you.

I have watched a bunch of videos on youtube to try to be prepared and I will be getting most of the supplies this evening from Moore's Auto Paint.

Let me know if you can help!
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th   #2
GrantH
GrantH
aka GrantYoungPhotography
Huntsville Car Scene Staff

What type condition are the parts in right now? And just out of curiosity...what kind of car?
GrantH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th   #3
Sean
Sean
has no status.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrantH View Post
What type condition are the parts in right now? And just out of curiosity...what kind of car?
The bumper is in good factory painted condition except one dime sized place than needs some bondo. The hood has been stripped to bare aluminum except where there is body filler from a previous paint job, some of which came off when stripping the paint. So it needs to be redone in some areas. Both parts came from a junk yard and were painted an OEM black color but my car is red. This is for an Evo 8.
Old July 6th   #4
AWDani
AWDani
is in full on mod mode.